• Laeiszhalle Hamburg (map)
  • Johannes-Brahms-Platz
  • Hamburg, HH, 20355
  • Germany

The first big concert project of the Argo Ensemble will be a Hommage to one of the greatest Greek Composers Mikis Theodorakis. With 92 years, he is a legendary figure of the Greek liberation movement and a national hero. His big Œuvre in Classical Music is widely unknown. The Argo Ensemble will highlight the most remarkable pieces Theodorakis wrote. His 1st Suite for Piano and Orchestra won the first prize in a composition competition in 1957 with Dimitri Shostakovich and Hans Eisler sitting in the jury. His Rhapsody for Cello and Orchestra presents in nine movements the Characters of the muses. The 1st symphony was written after his studies in Paris with Olivier Messiaen and has a post-Shostakovich style combined with a strong lyricism. In his famous Adagio for Clarinet and Orchestra Theodorakis wrote one of his most beautiful melodies. The composer himself will be present for the concert.


Suite Nr.1 for Piano and Orchestra (German Premiere)

Symphony No.1 (German Premiere)

Rhapsody for Cello and Orchestra

Adagio for Clarinet and Orchestra


Piano: Alexander Panfilov

Conductor: Ektoras Tartanis

Orchestra: Argo Ensemble 


Tickets available at: